A view of a refurbished room

Tapestry Court

Re-plan and refurbishment of a former public house

Project Description

The building was a former public house called ‘The Queens Head Hotel.’ It is situated on the site of the library of Tudor astronomer John Dee (1527-1609). The brief was to re-plan the interior of a 2-storey apartment overlooking the Oxford/Cambridge boat race finish line.

The Challenge

Large areas of floors, walls and stairs were to be laid or covered with a narrow strip of English oak with a sawn textured but smooth boarding. Certain wall areas were to be clad in matching sawn Oak with stair treads, hand rails, skirting and cappings produced to exacting sizes and specifications.

The Results

Through the supply of quality material and expert fitting work by the contractors, the apartment looks clean and modern, together with the matching English Oak joinery makes for a very classy London apartment.

Additional Information

ARCHITECT: Giles Reid Architects, Richmond

CONTRACTOR: Harris Calnan, Herts



Exterior viewInterior viewInterior viewInterior viewInterior viewInterior viewInterior view
E: sales@whippletree.co.uk
Whippletree logo
Tel: 01763208966